Porsche Junior Matt Campbell wins turbulent race

The reserve drive Jaap van Lagen (NL/MOMO-Megatron Team Partrax) crossed the finish line after 14 laps on fourth, with Porsche Junior Dennis Olsen (N/Walter Lechner Racing Team) claiming fifth: “What a race! First of all, I’m thrilled to have already won the rookie championship title. However, several unexpected things happened out on the track. I had a problem with braking and it cost me a podium spot, which I was on track for at times. Things are really tight in the championship and, of course, I’d like to ultimate take home the title.”

Sixth place went to Ryan Cullen (GB/Walter Lechner Racing Team) followed by Robert Lukas (PL/Olimp Racing). Porsche Junior Thomas Preining (A/Walter Lechner Racing Team), who contested the Monza round as a guest driver and who is a regular driver in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland this season, saw the flag in eighth. “The start was crazy but I managed to make up positions from tenth on the grid. However I was hit as I was exiting the first corner and suddenly found myself in 16th. From there I worked my way back up the field.” Daniel Cammish (GB/Lechner MSG Racing Team) came ninth.

Jaap Van Lagen (NL), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Monza 2017
Jaap Van Lagen (NL), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Monza 2017

For the championship leader, Ammermüller, the race turned into a nightmare. The 31-year-old had taken up the race from third on the grid, but was overtaken by Olsen in the sprint to the first corner. In lap seven, Ammermüller and another competitor swapped paint, which saw the seasoned Porsche specialist fall back from fourth to eleventh. In the action-packed midfield, there was another minor collision in lap ten and Ammermüller settled into 13th place. He finally reached the flag in tenth position after 80.793 kilometres. The German now heads to the season finale of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup held for the first time in Mexico as the series leader just three points ahead of Olsen. Rounds ten and eleven will be contested on the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez racetrack, where the championship will be decided. 

Monza, result round 9 of 11*

1. Matt Campbell (AUS/Fach Auto Tech) 
2. Zaid Ashkanani (KUW/MRS GT Racing) 
3. Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport)
4. Jaap van Lagen (NL/MOMO-Megatron Team Partrax) 
5. Dennis Olsen (N/Walter Lechner Racing Team)
6. Ryan Cullen (GB/Walter Lechner Racing Team)
7. Robert Lukas (PL/Olimp Racing)
8. Thomas Preining (A/Walter Lechner Racing Team)
9. Daniel Cammish (GB/Lechner MSG Racing Team)
10. Michael Ammermüller (D/Lechner MSG Racing Team)
*Preliminary result