Ypres Historic 2013

The Ypres Historic Rally took place June 28 and 29 this year. The thursday before the rally started, the crowd gathered in Boezinge where the first stage would take offon friday morning. For some teams the crowded roads caused some slight problems to be at the startline in time for the first testdrive.

The first day, 4 different stages had to be raced by the teams. The multiple Belgian rally champion Patrick Snijers, a first time competitor for the Ypres Historic Rally, seemed to fulfill the expectations in the FIA class with his Porsche 911 by taking the lead with a scratch.

Later that day, Snijers had serious problems with the alternator which threw him way back in the friday results. Great anniversary present for Paul Lietaer in the Ford Escort MKII. The first day of the race had many showerswhich of course made it very spectacular for the visitors, however understandably more dangerous for the competitors. The day ended with Paul Lietaer in front, followed by Robert Droogmansand Didier Vanwijnsberghe, all in Ford Escort.

In the national class was a battle between Bernard Munster and Frederica Delplace, both competing in a Porsche 911.

Ypres Historic 2013Saturday morning, weather gods changed their mind so the race could start dry. The technical problems of Snijers didn’t stop him from starting the race on Saturday, however it was sure from the 1st minute he couldn’t compete for victory.

In the 1st stage Droogmans had to cope with a flat tire, setting him backwards in the rankings. Later in the same stage Lietaer had the same problem, too late to make him lose too much time. In another stage Vanwijnsberghe had some technical problems which made the victory a fact for Lietaer.

Exactly as on friday the battle in the national class went on between Munster and Deplace. At the end, Munster gained victory, just 31 seconds faster than Deplace, which makes clear the battle was fierce, on the limit and very entertaining for the public.