Ypres Historic Rally 2014

Ypres Historic 2014On the occasion of the 50t edition, the organization had a special exhibition that showed the visitors a clear overview of the history of the Ypres rally, withsome amazing memorabilia on display, loaned by several collectors.

The Ypres Historic Rallye consists of 2 major classes : The FIA Historic Sporting Rally Championship and the Belgium Yokohama Historic Rally Championship.However, seen the the results on the table, there’s not that much difference between the 2 championships regarding average speeds reached by the competitors.

In both classes there was a contingent of Porsches at the start, however the success in the FIA Championship was not on the account of a Porsche : Ford dominated with no lessthan 5 cars in the top 10. Just one Porsche in the top 10 results : Jan Wydhooge and Joeri Dekiere from the Atlantic team reached a 10th place in their Porsche 911 SC.

More success in the overall ranking of the Belgiun Historic Championship for Porsches: Glenn Jannssens and Stephane Prevot from the Duindistel team gained overall victory in a Porsche 911. 5th place was for Patrick Mylleville and Nicode Beernaert from the Atlantic team in a Porsche 911RS.

Pictures : Wilfried Geerts