Chip Robinso

Born : March 29 1954

Biography Chip Robinson

Chip Robinson was born March 29 1954 in Pennsylvania. At the age of 24, Chip Robinson began racing in Formula Ford 1600. It took him several years to win the Northeast regional title in 1982. Two seasons driving a Ralt RT5 in North American Super Vee culminated with him finishing as runner-up to Arie Luyendyk in the 1984 standings having won at Long Beach, Meadowlands and Elkhart Lake.


Later Chip Robinson discontinued  open-wheel racing. In 1985 he joinedGroup 44’s Jaguar team to race in IMSA. Chip Robinson was the regular co-driver of team owner Bob Tullius, scoring six podium finishes and team member of the Le Mans Team that same year. 

In 1986, they won the final IMSA round. That year  Robinson also started two Champ Car races in Dick Simon’s year-old Lola-Cosworth. Among others he finished seventh in Miami. Group 44 entered him in a March 86C-Cosworth for three races in 1987 when sixth at Long Beach his best result.

IMSA Champion

However, IMSA remained his main focus. Chip  Robinson joined the Holbert Racing Team. That was his first experience with the Löwenbräu Porsche 962. Victory in the Daytona 24 Hours was the first of three wins as Robinson clinched the 1987 IMSA GTP title.

After a winless 1988, Robinson joined Electramotive Engineering’s works Nissan concern. The GTP ZX-Turbo was the class of the field in 1989 and Robinson finished as runner-up to team-mate and regular co-driver Geoff Brabham when only losing the title at the final round when his halfshaft broke. A winner for the next two seasons, he broke his shoulder following a puncture at Road Atlanta in 1992 in what was the final season before Nissan withdrew.

The team closed and with it went Robinson’s racing career. He started the 1993 Daytona and Sebring endurance races in a Joest Porsche 962 but those were his last appearances in professional racing. He now lives in Atlanta where he works in the furniture business. He also returned to the sport in 2014 as race director of North America’s junior open wheel categories.