Porsche 911 RSR, Porsche GT Team (911): Patrick Pilet, Frederic Makowiecki, Dirk Werner, Porsche GT Team (912): Laurens Vanthoor, Kevin Estre, Richard Lietz,

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, round 2: 12 Hours of Sebring, USA

Scroll down for next page

The 12 Hours of Sebring is the oldest and toughest sports car race in the USA. The 65th running of this classic event at the Sebring International Raceway on the legendary airfield circuit in the heart of Florida will be held on 18 March. The Porsche GT Team tackles round two of the IMSA SportsCar Championship with a pair of 510 hp 911 RSR in the GTLM class. Porsche customer teams contest the GTD class with the 911 GT3 R. With 18 overall victories and 70 class wins, Porsche is the most successful manufacturer in the history of the storied and notoriously bumpy racetrack. Porsche also travels to Sebring as the points’ leader of the North American Endurance Cup, a competition encompassing the four long distance races at Daytona, Sebring, Watkins Glen and Petit Le Mans.

The race

The race is as legendary as its winners. Immortalised on the winners’ list are racing greats such as Juan Manuel Fangio, Dan Gurney, Hans Hermann, Jacky Ickx and Mario Andretti. Hollywood stars Paul Newman and Steve McQueen, who finished second overall in 1970 with a Porsche 908, have also fulfilled their racing dreams on the Sebring International Raceway. Built on a former military airfield, the circuit with its 17 corners is 5.954 kilometres long and hosted the inaugural race on 31 December, 1950.

Porsche 911 RSR Sebring 12H
Porsche 911 RSR, Porsche GT Team (911): Patrick Pilet, Frederic Makowiecki, Dirk Werner