Julien Andlauer wins season finale of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup : Micharel Ammermüller celebrates championship title

Michael Ammermüller (D), BWT Lechner Racing, Erwin Kickmaier, Walter Lechner sen., Franz Maier, Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Mexico 2018

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Round 10, Formula 1 race at Mexico City/Mexico

A perfect end to the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup season for Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer (martinet by ALMERAS): After crossing the finishing line first on Saturday, the Frenchman scored his second Supercup win of the weekend in Mexico City. “It’s fantastic to conclude the season with a double victory. Fourth overall in my debut Supercup season is a great result. On top of this, the Proton Competition team, for whom I contest the WEC, took home the title in the European Le Mans Series. Congratulations to my long-distance squad in Portimao. This weekend was simply perfect,” said Andlauer. Nick Yelloly (Fach Auto Tech) from Great Britain secured second place ahead of Michael Ammermüller (BWT Lechner Racing). Third place was enough for the German to secure the championship title of the international one-make cup for the second time in a row.

Spectators on the Formula 1 grandstands were treated to a gripping race with many overtaking manoeuvres. Although polesitter Ammermüller had the best starting position, he lost it to Andlauer in the sprint to the first corner. The Frenchman used the 485 hp of his Porsche 911 GT3 Cup to sweep from second on the grid into the lead. Over the course of the race, Andlauer gradually pulled clear of the field to take the flag first after 16 laps.

Start, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Julien Andlauer (F), Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Michael Ammermüller (D), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Mexico 2018
Start, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Julien Andlauer (F), Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Michael Ammermüller (D), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Mexico 2018

Ammermüller, however, could not defend his second place: Yelloly and Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing) put Ammermüller under pressure from behind. In the third lap, Yelloly grabbed the chance to use his slipstream advantage on the start-finish straight of the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez to move into second place. Three laps later, Porsche Junior Preining also overtook his teammate before chasing down Yelloly and passing him in lap ten. The 20-year-old, however, was handed a three-second penalty due to gaining an advantage by leaving the track. As a result, Yelloly inherited second place ahead of Ammermüller. “On the one hand I’m pleased with my podium result, but obviously I would’ve liked to take home the title. But Michael Ammermüller drove such a clever race that I had no real chance. I congratulate him,” said Yelloly.

Ammermüller was overjoyed: “Even if it looked easy today, I was tense to the last lap. I still can’t believe I’ve won the title for the second time straight. The most important thing is to earn as many points as possible at every race. And that’s what I did at both races this weekend.” The 32-year-old is only the fifth driver after Patrick Huisman, Richard Westbrook, Jeroen Bleekemolen and René Rast to defend his championship title in the international one-make cup.

Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Nick Yelloly (GB), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Mexico 2018.
Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, Nick Yelloly (GB), Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, Mexico 2018.

Preining finished on fourth place. “Had I not received the time penalty I could have done better, but I have to live with fourth place. Still, I fought to the end for the championship. It was a thrilling season for me,” said Preining. On the 4.304-kilometre racetrack, Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Project 1) crossed the finish line as the best rookie in fifth place ahead of Zaid Ashkanani (MRS GT-Racing) from Kuwait. Seventh went to the Frenchman Florian Latorre (martinet by ALMERAS), with Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport) securing eighth. First in the ProAm classification was Nicolas Misslin (Pierre martinet by ALMERAS). Behind the Frenchman came Mark Radcliffe (GB/IDL Racing) and Roar Lindland (N/Lechner Racing Middle East).

In the championship, Ammermüller is first with 153 points. Yelloly takes home the vice-championship with 146 points. Third overall behind the 27-year-old is Preining. The youngster climbed to the top step of the podium four times this season – more than any other driver – and earned 135 points. The title in the rookie classification goes to Latorre with 90 points. Lindland is the champion of the ProAm class. From ten rounds, the Norwegian collected 174 points. The title of the team classification was already decided on Saturday: Achieving 288 points over the season, BWT Lechner Racing celebrated first place.

Mexico City, race 10 of 10
1. Julien Andlauer (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech)
3. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing)
4. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing)
5. Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Project 1)
6. Zaid Ashkanani (KWT/MRS GT-Racing)
7. Florian Latorre (F/martinet by ALMERAS)
8. Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport)
9. Dylan Pereira (L/Momo Megatron Lechner Racing)
10. Mikkel O. Pedersen (DK/MRS GT-Racing)

Points standings after 10 of 10 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Michael Ammermüller (D/BWT Lechner Racing), 153 points
2. Nick Yelloly (GB/Fach Auto Tech), 146 points
3. Thomas Preining (A/BWT Lechner Racing), 135 points