Title fight goes down to the wire at last race of the season

The Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland remains gripping until the end – the title will only be decided on Sunday. On the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg, Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport) won at the wheel of his 450 hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup ahead of points’ leader Kévin Estre (F/Attempto Racing), and Nicki Thiim (DK/Attempto Racing). This puts Estre at the top of the overall standings with 229 points. Engelhart sits second holding 221 points. With 20 points up for grabs at the 17th and final race of the season on Sunday, Thiim in third overall (203 points) has to relinquish his hopes of taking home the title. “It’s going to be incredibly exciting for the last round, because I’m on pole position and Christian is right next to me in second,” explained Estre. “My third victory has given me enough self confidence to be champion,” stated Engelhart.

After commemorating the death of British pilot Sean Edwards, who had competed in the Porsche Carrera Cup since 2010 and was fatally injured at a private driver training on the Queensland Raceway in Australia on Tuesday, the field headed out for the formation lap. When the lights went off, Thiim was initially able to defend his pole position but after a braking mistake in the first lap, Engelhart managed to slip past him. Behind him, Thiim and Estre battled fiercely for positions, with Estre ultimately winning the duel in lap eight. When Christopher Zoechling (A/Konrad Motorsport) parked his Porsche trackside with tyre damage in the tenth lap, the safety car came out and the race was flagged off after a duration of 25 minutes.

Porsche junior Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport) took off into the race from 16th on the grid and finished eleventh. “The result was okay. Now I’m putting all my hopes on the next race, because I start from third and I’m determined to score a podium spot,” said de Phillippi. After a botched qualifying, Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing powered by Motorvision) headed into the race from 36th and saw the flag in 18th. “Considering my grid position, the result is not that bad. I was able to overtake a lot and I’m feeling confident for Sunday’s race.”

A decision has already been made in the B-classification, with Rolf Ineichen (CH/Konrad Motorsport) in first ahead of Dominic Jöst (D/Attempto Racing). This makes Ineichen the new Amateur Champion of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland.

The 17th and final round of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland season over 18 laps (82.332 kilometres) takes off on Sunday at 10am and can be watched live on www.porsche.com.

Result race 16:

1. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport)
2. Kévin Estre (F/Attempto Racing)
3. Nicki Thiim (DK/Attempto Racing)
4. Philipp Eng (A/Logiplus MRS-Racing)
5. Jaap van Lagen (NL/FE Racing by Land-Motorsport)
6. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport)
7. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1)
8. Pieter Schothorst (NL/Team Bleekemolen)
9. Norbert Siedler (A/Aust Motorsport)
10. Jeroen Mul (NL/Team Bleekemolen)

Points’ standings after 16 of 17 races:
Driver classification

1. Kévin Estre (F/Attempto Racing), 229 points
2. Christian Engelhart (D/Konrad Motorsport), 221
3. Nicki Thiim (DK/Attempto Racing), 203
4. Sean Edwards (GB/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 162
5. Norbert Siedler (A/Aust Motorsport), 158
6. Philipp Eng (A/Logiplus MRS-Racing), 156
7. Jaap van Lagen (NL/FE Racing by Land-Motorsport), 147
8. Robert Lukas (PL/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), 134
9. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), 116
10. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 97

Amateur classification

1. Rolf Ineichen (CH/Konrad Motorsport), 264
2. Dominic Jöst (D/Attempto Racing), 225
3. Wolf Nathan (NL/FE Racing by Land-Motorsport), 178

Rookie classification

1. Connor de Phillippi (USA/Förch Racing by Lukas Motorsport), 116
2. Jeffrey Schmidt (CH/Team Deutsche Post by Project 1), 97
3. Alex Riberas (E/Attempto Racing powered by Motorvision), 69

Team classification

1. Attempto Racing, 434
2. Konrad Motorsport, 306
3. Förch Racing By Lukas Motorsport 1, 259