Porsche Mobil1 Supercup, round 6 at the British Grand Prix, Qualifying: Nicolas Armindo on pole – te

Nicolas Armindo (France) secured his first pole position at the sixth round of the Porsche Mobil1 Supercup in Silverstone. The 25-year-old lapped the 5.1 kilometre Grand Prix circuit in 1:51.692 minutes, undercutting last year’s time by 14-hundredths of a second. Armindo, who contests his first season in the world’s fastest international makes cup, claimed pole with his first flying lap. This result marks the first time the Frenchman takes up a race in the Porsche Mobil1 Supercup from pole this season.

Lining up alongside in second is Armindo’s team mate Christian Menzel (Germany). The 35-year-old champion of the 2005 Carrera Cup Deutschland also set his best time in the first five minutes of the qualifying session, with the gap to the pole-sitter more than two-tenths of a second. Third on the grid is quadruple Supercup champion and four-time Silverstone winner Patrick Huisman (Netherlands). Alongside the 40-year-old Dutchman for the 14-lap race is David Saelens from Belgium.

Sharing the third row of the grid is the reigning champion of the Carrera Cup Great Britain Damien Faulkner (Ireland) and Jeroen Bleekemolen (Netherlands). UPS Porsche junior Lance David Arnold (Germany) planted his 911 GT3 Cup on seventh, whilst his 19-year-old team mate and new-comer to the series Martin Ragginger (Austria) secured tenth. Porsche specialist Uwe Alzen (Germany), currently second in the points, takes up the sprint from ninth.

James Sutton (Great Britain) put his 911 GT3 Cup on eleventh. With this result he was the fastest of the guest starters from the Carrera Cup Great Britain. His compatriots, Tim Harvey and Steven Kane, secured positions 15 and 16 respectively.

Richard Westbrook (Great Britain) was in fact three-hundredths of a second quicker than Armindo, however the reigning champion and current points leader lost his pole-setting time due to an infringement against the Parc-Fermé regulations after the qualifying session. The same fate met Westbrook’s team mate Michael Schrey (Germany) and the ex-Formula 1 driver Derek Warwick (Great Britain) who had accepted an invitation from Porsche AG to contest the round. In accordance with the decision handed out by the Stewards of the Meeting’s the three will start from the back of the grid on Sunday.

Television station “Eurosport “ broadcasts the sixth round of the championship at 12.15 hours (CET).

Nicolas Armindo (pole-sitter): “The cancellation of the qualifying times is a hard decision. But we were already warned about exactly this infringement at Magny-Cours. Since then I stick to the regulations. Tomorrow I’ll go flat-out – just like in France. It would be fantastic if the result could be better than then.”

Christian Menzel (second in qualifying): “The qualifying performance for my team today was great. Yesterday in free practice my car wasn’t running very well. To be on the safe side we changed all the shocks. Today my car was perfect. I felt I could have done more but I didn’t want to take any risks. Yes, I’m sure I can do more. For tomorrow’s race I have a fresh set of tyres. My motto is attack.”

Qualifying result:
1. Nicolas Armindo (F), tolimit, 1:51.692 minutes (165.702 kph)
2. Christian Menzel (D), tolimit, 0.241 seconds behind
3. Patrick Huisman (NL), Konrad Motorsport, 0.408
4. David Saelens (B), Team IRWIN SAS, 0.422
5. Damien Faulkner (IR), Lechner Racing Team Bahrain, 0.448
6. Jeroen Bleekemolen (NL), Golden Spike Pertamina Indonesia RT PZE, 0.645
7. Lance D. Arnold (D), UPS Porsche Junior Team, 0.683
8. Stefan Rosina (SK), Lechner Racing School Team, 0.792
9. Uwe Alzen (D), SPS performance, 0.799
10. Martin Ragginger (A), UPS Porsche Junior Team, 1.006
11. James Sutton (GB), Porsche Cars Great Britain, 1.198
12. Jaap van Lagen (NL), Bleekemolen Race Planet PZ Essen, 1.228
13. Olivier Maximin (F), MRS-Team PZ Aschaffenburg, 1.266
14. Alessandro Zampedri (I), Lechner Racing Team Bahrain, 1.274
15. Tim Harvey (GB), Porsche Cars Great Britain, 1.388
16. Steven Kane (GB), HISAQ® Competition, 1.413
17. Richard Williams (GB), Racing Team Indonesia PZ Essen RA Beheer, 1.418
18. Jiri Janak (CZ), Schnbal Enigneering-LKM-Team Jebsen, 1.728
19. William Langhorne (USA), MRS-Team PZ Aschaffenburg, 1.887
20. Phil Quaife (GB), Racing Team Indonesia PZ Essen RA Beheer, 1.993
21. Sebastiaan Bleekemolen (NL), Bleekemolen Race Planet PZ Essen, 2.076
22. Marc Hynes (GB), Team IRWIN SAS, 2.385
23. Mikael Forsten (FIN), Konrad Motorsport, 2.585
24. Emilio de Villota (E), Konrad Motorsport, 2.653
25. Paul van Splunteren (NL), HSF/Porsche Centrum Eindhoven, 2.970
26. Darryl O’Young (HK), Schnabl Engineering-LKM-Team Jebsen, 3.078
27. Timothy Macrow (AU), Golden Spike Pertamina Indonesia RT PZE, 3.569
28. Simon Frederiks (NL), HSF/Porsche Centrum Eindhoven, 4.588

Nemunas Dagilis (LT), SPS performance, 9.156

Richard Westbrook (GB), HISAQ® Competition
Michael Schrey (D), HISAQ® Competition
Derek Warwick (GB), Porsche AG